Article Writing

Standard

Article writing is a new concept that I had never heard of up until a few months ago. I have been “hired” as a writer for two different companies online where I get paid for every article I write that they accept. I was concerned at first if this was even a legitimate way to make money. One company to write when I want and pick my own topics to write about –within the context of their website. The other company has a plethora of topics that I can scan and claim the topics I wish to write.

These article writing sites allow have been testing my ability as a writer. I come from a background of working full time writing documentation for one piece of software. Article writing gives me the ability to try out all different types of topics and work with copy editors to make sure all guidelines are followed. I enjoy learning and researching new topics, so article writing is a wonderful opportunity.

During my experience so far, I have decided on a set dollar amount per 500 words that I would accept. Some article sites I have seen do not pay enough to compensate for the research and writing I put in to create a unique article.

What are your thoughts on pay-per-article writing?

2 thoughts on “Article Writing

  1. I think if you are happy writing somewhere, you should do it!

    I don’t much care for article sites or content mills — but everything has its place on the Web, right?

    Some people can make easy, quick cash using them (but I never, ever, ever think anyone should write for revenue share… I shudder to think about that) — and if you’re one of those people, do it up, girl! 🙂

    Just don’t forget to continuously market yourself as a freelance writer and keep trying to snag private clients. I think it’s easy to get stuck in a rut when you’re grabbing low-hanging fruit… but the low-hanging fruit might not always be there.

    Good luck – great blog!

    • Thank you for the encouragement Angie. I like the aspect of keeping my skills up and writing for a specific client’s taste. I definitely am more focused on landing private clients, but in the meantime, the practice doesn’t hurt. I know the content mill site does have a revenue share option, but I have never looked into it so I have no idea what it involves.

Leave a Reply

