Networking: Tell Your Friends What You Can Do

Standard

“The successful networkers I know, the ones receiving tons of referrals and feeling truly happy about themselves, continually put the other person’s needs ahead of their own.” Bob Burg

I made the decision at the beginning of this year that I wanted to be successful as a freelancer and help others achieve their writing goals. Seeing someone achieve their goal makes me happy and I am passionate to make their goals my own when it comes to editing materials. If someone has a goal and I have the ability to help make that goal a reality, of course I would step up. Wouldn’t you?

Slowly, I have found my specific niche and am working to spread the word around about my business. While at a church picnic, I decided to start dipping toes outside of my comfort zone. There are many people I know at church and we chit chat regularly. My husband talks drums and music with a few other guys from the band and while we when one of their discussions faded, I decided to jump in and asked the friend what he did for a living. Come to find out he was in an engineering field and we ended up with a lengthy and exciting discussion about our respective fields. I tried this same method with another gentleman and found out he works for a major computer company with software training. Both of these gentlemen work in technical fields and have influence to send clients my direction now that they know a technical editor.

These gentlemen I have talked with on a regular basis and I would have never known of their technical background if I had not asked. They would never know to refer people to me if they never knew what I did for a living. Networking is not so much a marketing sales pitch as it is having small talk with a friend and teaching them what skills you have to offer. I definitely find it easier to tell others what I do now that I have a niche to be specific and detailed when I speak of these skills. These two guys know I edit books and technical documents and they will remember when they talk to others.

Related Topics
Make Yourself Known
Shy Person Marketing
Show That Winning Smile: Be Your Brand
The Insecure Market

Leave a Reply

