The Downside of the iPad: Part 2

Standard

I love my iPad when it comes to social media. Following editing colleagues and mentors on twitter is a blessing. Quick email checks to make sure I do not miss out on any important clients is also made easier on the go with the iPad.

I want the iPad to be the answer to mobile marketing and running a business. However, the shortfalls keep it from being truly something this freelancer cannot live without. Part of my personal dilemma could be that I am a true PC girl at heart, so I do not have the aid of iPad-Mac compatibility.

I have found that although checking and replying to quick emails overall is a nice feature, especially with the app shortcut already signed in to my account, emailing clients is not always that easy. The example I will use is when I am emailing a client regarding a software feature or bug. There is back and forth email conversation, then they want to see a screenshot. I have the ability with the iPad to take the screenshot, but not the ability to add that picture to an email. Indeed, I can go to the image and tell it to email, but am not able to send a message with the picture or have it attached to the previous messages for reference.

I also do not like the idea of having to save files within each application. Again, as a PC girl, I like to search explorer and have all my client files together in one folder so they can be referenced later. Instead, I have a pdf file saved in the app for signing contracts, a file in documents program, as well as a file for the invoice. I personally use dropbox to keep track of my files between electronic devices. As stated in Part 1, every time I open the file on the iPad I must save a new local copy, leaving multiple versions.

I will add also that the last update caused me much anxiety because even with having a few backup versions of my iPad, other problems with the update led me to wonder if I would ever see my information again. Especially since some of those apps are the only places I have that information. There is really no way to access some of the information if not on the iPad itself. This would cause serious issues if the iPad had not recovered from it’s latest upgrade.

The tablet as a general electronic is a terrific piece of technology and I definitely see that in a few years, everyone will have to have an iPad and laptops will not be as abundant. Until then, I plan to keep mine around.

Leave a Reply

