Marketing Pros and Cons: The Resume

Standard

Working in the corporate world taught me to apply for each job with a resume and cover letter. As a freelancer, I am learning there are many ways to not only apply for a job, but also market my business. The key is to find a contact to send my information to so eyes actually see what I have to offer. According to the recent poll I posted on my site just a few days ago, I have learned that my readers are split between using a resume as well as submitting a link to an online portfolio. Today, I want to focus specifically on applying with a resume.

Pro

Resumes are a great way to give a potential employer a good overall impression of the applicant. Someone who was able to move right into their field and has a history of working in the same type of position would be able to show their employer the skills learned as they moved up through positions.

Con

Someone who could not find a job right out of college and had to move positions many times might find it difficult to portray themselves to an employer on a resume. Also, any parent who chose to stay at home or any child who took time off to care for an elder, would find it difficult on paper to explain this lack of work. Resumes can be limiting to accurately portray someone’s skills when they are hard to explain in just a few sentences.

 

2 thoughts on “Marketing Pros and Cons: The Resume

  1. I was just thinking today, if tomorrow I take a two year break from my career to raise my kid, should I include that in my resume? It is a full-time job, you learn a lot of management skills, it is not that you are ever sitting idle, you learn to innovate and understand your team (husband, kid) as well. There must be people out there who take motherhood seriously.

    What are your thoughts?

    • A two year break might warrant a mention in your summary to address why you have been out of the “workforce” for two years. I am learning with my 3 month old that there are many skills you learn “on the job” as a stay at home.

Comments are closed.